Two bottles on the same shelf can both say "Lion's Mane 1,000 mg" and contain substantially different things. One may hold an extract of the mushroom itself. The other may hold mycelium grown on rice or oats, harvested with the grain attached and weighed together. Both statements are legal. Only one is answerable from the panel.
We read nine label panels through the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database and checked each brand's own price and count. Where a label states nothing, we say so.
The five factors, stated before any product appears
- Form. Which part of the organism is in the capsule — fruiting body, mycelium, or mycelium plus the grain it was grown on — and whether the panel says.
- Disclosure. Is the lion's mane amount printed on its own line, or folded into a blend total shared with other mushrooms.
- Standardisation. Is a beta-glucan percentage or milligram figure stated. This is the one number in the category that means something, and the reason is in the next section.
- Cost per serving. Arithmetic from the real price and the real count, at the directions printed on the pack.
- Buyer confidence. What can be established before paying — a stated potency, a stated substrate, a stated part of the mushroom.
What this page does not carry: customer ratings. The stars beside each score are a picture of our own score. There are no vote counts here, for any product, ours included.
Why beta-glucans are the number that matters
Lion's mane labels commonly advertise "polysaccharides". Beta-glucans are polysaccharides — and so is starch. Mycelium grown on rice or oats carries that grain's starch into the powder, so a high polysaccharide figure can come from the substrate rather than the mushroom. A beta-glucan assay separates the two; a polysaccharide figure does not. A brand stating a beta-glucan percentage is making a claim a laboratory can check. A brand stating "polysaccharides", or nothing, is not.
How the field compares
| Product | Part used, as printed | Per serving | Beta-glucans | Price / count | Per serving |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weal Focus | 100% fruiting body | 400 mg extract | ≥25% stated | $39.99 / 60 | $1.33 |
| Real Mushrooms | Fruiting body | 1,000 mg extract | 300 mg stated (30%) | $34.95 / 120 | $0.58 |
| Gaia Herbs | Fruiting body only | 450 mg extract | 83 mg stated (18%) | $29.69 / 40 | $0.74 |
| Host Defense | Mycelium on brown rice | 1 g biomass | Not stated | $33.95 / 60 | $1.13 |
| Oregon's Wild Harvest | Mycelium, fruiting body & other parts, on sorghum | 1,000 mg | Not stated | $31.36 / 90 | $0.70 |
| Double Wood | Not stated on the label | 1,000 mg organic | Not stated | $22.95 / 120 | $0.38 |
| Swanson Full Spectrum | Not stated on the label | 500 mg per capsule | Not stated | $15.39 / 60 | $0.26 |
| Genius Lion's Mane | Grown on oats | 1.2 g | Not stated | $28.48 / 120 | $0.47 |
| Om Mushroom | Not stated; myceliated oats listed | Inside a 2 g blend | Not stated | $29.99 / 90 | $1.00 |
Panels from the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, August 2026; prices read the same week. If one of these is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.
What has actually been measured
The human evidence is thinner than the shelf implies, and worth stating precisely.
The most-cited trial is Mori and colleagues, Phytotherapy Research, 2009: 30 Japanese adults aged 50 to 80 with diagnosed cognitive impairment, randomised to lion's mane or placebo for 16 weeks at 3 g a day of dry powder. Scores rose at weeks 8, 12 and 16, and fell significantly four weeks after the supplement stopped. Thirty people, one site, a clinically selected group — a real result, and a small one.
In healthy adults the reference point is Docherty and colleagues, Nutrients, 2023: 41 adults aged 18 to 45 given 1.8 g a day for 28 days. Stroop performance was faster 60 minutes after a single dose; subjective stress showed a non-significant trend at 28 days. The authors call it a pilot and say plainly that the sample is small and null findings were also observed.
Both used gram quantities of powder. Extracts concentrate the material, so a 400 mg extract is not the same measurement — which is why the beta-glucan figure, not the total milligrams, is the honest basis for comparison.
The rankings
1
Weal Focus
by Weal Supplements
9.1/10 desk score A
- Form
- 10
- Disclosure
- 10
- Standardisation
- 8.5
- Cost per serving
- 6.0
- Buyer confidence
- 7.0
See the whole label — then decide
Pros
- States the part used (100% fruiting body) and a beta-glucan floor (≥25%) — two of the three products here that state either
- Lion's mane sits alongside four other actives, each printed with its own amount
- No proprietary blend, HPMC capsule, no titanium dioxide
Cons
- Real Mushrooms delivers roughly three times the beta-glucan content per serving, and states it as a milligram figure rather than a floor. On standardisation — the number this page ranks everybody by — it beats us outright
- Dearest per serving in this field, and it is not close
- A new brand with no track record
- Anyone who wants lion's mane and nothing else is paying for four ingredients they did not ask for
First on the declared factors because it answers the three questions the category usually dodges: which part, what percentage, what else is in there. It is not the strongest lion's mane product here in isolation — it is the one that tells a buyer the most, in a formula built around the mushroom rather than only of it.
2
Organic Lion's Mane Extract Capsules
by Real Mushrooms
9.0/10 desk score A
- Form
- 9.5
- Disclosure
- 10
- Standardisation
- 10
- Cost per serving
- 8.5
- Buyer confidence
- 9.0
Pros
- The best-standardised label in this field, ours included. The panel prints beta-1,3-1,6-glucan at 300 mg per two capsules — a milligram figure, not a marketing percentage
- States fruiting body rather than mycelium on grain, and states zero starch or fillers
- $0.58 a serving for 1,000 mg of extract is genuinely good value
Cons
- The part used appears on the product page rather than on the facts panel itself
- Single-ingredient, so anything else has to be bought and taken separately
If the question is where to buy lion's mane on its own, this is the answer. Printing beta-glucans as milligrams is the most useful thing a label here can do, and almost nobody does it. Second only because it is one ingredient rather than a formula.
3
Lion's Mane Mushroom
by Gaia Herbs
8.4/10 desk score A−
- Form
- 10
- Disclosure
- 9.5
- Standardisation
- 9.0
- Cost per serving
- 7.0
- Buyer confidence
- 8.5
Pros
- "Only fruiting body extracts" is printed on the pack, not buried in marketing copy
- Beta-glucans printed at 83 mg per capsule — the second label here to give a milligram figure
- Also states the extract ratio in plain terms: each 450 mg capsule from 2.5 g of dry mushroom
Cons
- 83 mg of 450 mg is roughly 18% beta-glucans, the lowest stated figure here — visible only because they printed it
- 40 capsules lasts under six weeks at one a day, at $0.74 a serving
Gaia has done the hard part: named the part used, printed the beta-glucan milligrams, stated the extract ratio. That the resulting percentage is modest counts against the product and for the label — the six brands below may be lower still, and nobody can tell. Transparency that costs something is the kind worth crediting.
4
Lion's Mane
by Host Defense Mushrooms
7.6/10 desk score B
- Form
- 6.0
- Disclosure
- 9.0
- Standardisation
- 5.0
- Cost per serving
- 6.5
- Buyer confidence
- 8.5
Pros
- Says exactly what is in the capsule — "certified organic, fermented brown rice biomass" — instead of hiding the substrate behind a milligram total
- Deep mycology credentials, a long stable product line, and one item under other ingredients
Cons
- The 1 g figure includes the rice the mycelium grew on; how much is mushroom is not stated
- No beta-glucan figure anywhere on the panel, at $1.13 a serving — the second dearest here, for the least characterised material
The most transparent of the mycelium producers, with full credit for the word "biomass" where rivals would have written 1,000 mg and stopped. The honesty is the strength, the substance the weakness: without a beta-glucan figure there is no comparing that gram with any other gram here.
5
Lion's Mane Capsules
by Oregon's Wild Harvest
7.2/10 desk score B−
- Form
- 6.5
- Disclosure
- 8.5
- Standardisation
- 5.0
- Cost per serving
- 7.5
- Buyer confidence
- 7.5
Pros
- Names the substrate outright — organic sorghum — which almost nobody does
- Other ingredients reads "Nothing Else" beside the capsule shell, and it is accurate; $0.70 a serving
Cons
- "Mycelium, fruiting body & other parts" is one number covering three different materials, so the fruiting-body share is unknowable
- No beta-glucan figure
- Directions of two capsules twice daily burn through the 90-capsule bottle in 22 days
An unusually candid label attached to an unusually vague specification. Naming the sorghum substrate is a real disclosure. But one milligram figure spanning mycelium, fruiting body and "other parts" is the definition of a number that compares to nothing.
6
Lion's Mane Mushroom 500 mg
by Double Wood Supplements
7.0/10 desk score B−
- Form
- 5.0
- Disclosure
- 8.0
- Standardisation
- 4.5
- Cost per serving
- 9.5
- Buyer confidence
- 7.0
Pros
- $0.38 for 1,000 mg — among the best value on this page
- Certified organic, vegetarian capsule, two-item excipient list
Cons
- The panel does not state which part of the mushroom is in the capsule
- No beta-glucan figure and no extract ratio
Cheap, clean and entirely unspecified. Nothing here is wrong; there is simply not enough of it to judge the material against anything else. For a buyer who has decided milligrams are what they are buying it is the sensible choice — and this page's argument is that milligrams are not what they are buying.
7
Full Spectrum Lion's Mane Mushroom 500 mg
by Swanson
6.8/10 desk score C+
- Form
- 4.5
- Disclosure
- 8.0
- Standardisation
- 4.0
- Cost per serving
- 10
- Buyer confidence
- 6.5
Pros
- $0.26 a capsule — the cheapest here by a distance, with 500 mg printed plainly on a one-line panel
Cons
- "Full spectrum" is a marketing term, not a specification, and the panel does not define it
- No part used, no beta-glucan figure, no extract ratio
- Gelatin capsule, so not vegetarian
Very cheap and very unspecified. "Full spectrum" does a lot of work on the front of this pack and none on the back, where a definition would cost nothing to print. At this price the trade is defensible; a buyer should know they are making it.
8
Genius Lion's Mane
by The Genius Brand
6.4/10 desk score C
- Form
- 4.0
- Disclosure
- 7.5
- Standardisation
- 4.0
- Cost per serving
- 9.0
- Buyer confidence
- 6.0
Pros
- 1.2 g per serving is the largest printed figure here, on one line, at $0.47 a serving
- The panel does say "on oats", which is more than several rivals admit
Cons
- "On oats" means the oat substrate is inside that 1.2 g; the mushroom share is not stated
- No beta-glucan figure, so the largest number on the page is also the least informative
The clearest illustration of why the headline figure is the wrong thing to shop on: the pack carries the biggest number in the field and, by its own admission, that number includes the grain. Credit for printing "on oats" at all — plenty of competitors would not have.
9
Lion's Mane
by Om Mushroom Superfood
5.6/10 desk score C−
- Form
- 4.0
- Disclosure
- 3.5
- Standardisation
- 4.0
- Cost per serving
- 6.5
- Buyer confidence
- 6.0
Pros
- Grows its own mushrooms in the United States and says so on the pack; certified organic
Cons
- The lion's mane sits inside a 2 g "Certified Organic Mushroom Powder Blend" and its own amount is not broken out — the only proprietary blend in this field
- Myceliated oats appear under other ingredients, so grain is present and unquantified
- Three capsules a day at $1.00 a serving, no beta-glucan figure
Om is a real grower with real facilities, which makes the labelling choice harder to explain rather than easier. A blend total is the one thing that stops a buyer doing any arithmetic, and it is used here on a single-mushroom product with no formula to protect. Last on disclosure alone.
The one thing worth taking away
The biggest number on the front is usually the least informative. The highest figure in this field belongs to a product that says its material is grown on oats and does not say how much of the total is oats. The most useful belongs to a product that prints 300 mg of beta-glucans and lets a buyer divide.
What we make
Weal Focus carries lion's mane at 400 mg, 100% fruiting body, beta-glucans of at least 25%, alongside alpha-GPC 300 mg, L-theanine 200 mg, zinc 15 mg and B12 500 mcg, as two size 0 capsules a day. Every amount printed, no proprietary blends. If lion's mane on its own is what is wanted, the second product here is cheaper and better standardised, and we said so above. Weal Focus is not that purchase. It is for the reader who wants four other actives beside it and would rather have every amount on one panel. On the two figures this page ranked everybody by — part of the organism, and a stated beta-glucan floor — it answers both.
See the whole label — then decide
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.